10 proven tips to get your duas answered.

Originally written for Ayeina.

How to get your duas answered?

Duas, prayers, supplications, duaa, why my dua is not accepted?, how to get my supplications granted?, how to make dua, how to benefit from duas, muslim dua, quran duas, duas by muslim.

Make use of the tips and techniques to get your prayers answered.

There are several articles online, that list all conditions/requirements to get our prayers answered. In this article, I will write what has perhaps not already been written about and points I include from my personal experience. In sha Allah it will benefit us all.

1. Make Dua for others

Yes, we all know that. But how can we optimize this? Make dua for others what you want for yourself. We can understand this better with an example. When I was pregnant, I used to pray regularly for normal and easy delivery. But even before I was pregnant I used to pray for my pregnant cousins, relatives and friends that they have easy and normal deliveries. I did this for several reasons.

1. I am extremely scared of surgeries and did not want anyone to undergo them.

2. As a muslim, I am supposed to feel the pain of other muslims and pray for them.

3. They had asked me to pray for them.
4. I can understand their pain as a fellow woman and I had to pray for them.

5. I knew sometime in future, I would be pregnant and Angels are saying “Same be with you.”


Umm Darda’ reported:

My husband reported that he heard Allah’s Messenger (ﷺ) as saying: He who supplicates for his brother behind his back (in his absence), the Angel commissioned (for carrying supplication to his Lord) says: Amen, and it is for you also.(Sahih Muslim)

https://sunnah.com/muslim/48/120

So, how can you make dua for others?

Firstly Listen and remember:

1. People share problems with us. Sometimes, just as a passing comment, sometimes with a lot of pain. Listen to them and mentally make a note of all their worries and issues. Not all people will ask you to make dua for them. Make dua for them anyway.

2. Collect and make a dua list for all your friends, family, relatives, neighbors, colleagues and acquaintances.

3. You can stress on duas that have similar needs as yours.

4. Make both general and specific duas.

5. Make dua for people collectively and also individually taking their name.


2. Ask people to make dua for you.

1. Don’t be shy or too proud or arrogant to ask people to pray for you, especially those who are indebted to you.

2. Keep reminding them to pray for you. They may forget one time, but they wont forget when reminded constantly.

3. Be kind. Be so good to people that you won’t even have to ask them to make dua for you. Help them out, relieve them of some of their troubles, make them happy and solve some of their problems. In short, be of use to your parents, family, friends, relatives, colleagues, acquaintances, neighbors strangers, in fact everybody. Duas pour out directly from heart for helpful people.

3. Make lot of duas and many times during the day.

Dua for every single thing.

Ubadah bin As-Samit (May Allah be pleased with him) said:

The Messenger of Allah (ﷺ) said, “Whenever a Muslim supplicates Allah, He accepts his supplication or averts any similar kind of trouble from him until he prays for something sinful or something that may break the ties of kinship.” Upon this someone of the Companions said: “Then we shall supplicate plenty.” The Messenger of Allah (ﷺ) said, “Allah is more plentiful (in responding).”

[At- Tirmidhi].

https://sunnah.com/riyadussaliheen/17/37

Make dua for everything : Every little problem, every minute issue, every small annoyance, every tiny trouble. Allah(swt) did not place a limit on the number or type of duas. Show Allah your dependence on him by constant duas. He loves that.

Duas, prayers, supplications, duaa, why my dua is not accepted?, how to get my supplications granted?, how to make dua, how to benefit from duas, muslim dua, quran duas, duas by muslim.

Created with Muslimify app.

Download Muslimify App here.

4. Ask Allah first.

Suppose, a problem comes up. You know a particular person can solve it. You call him immediately. Stop. Call Allah first. Ask Allah first. Yes, that person can solve your problem but can he do that if Allah doesn’t will it? Are we placing more faith in a human rather than Allah(swt)? We must always believe that everything is from Allah, if Allah doesn’t order than no matter how easy it is for a human to solve a problem, it wont be solved if Allah doesn’t order it.

Always discuss your problems with Allah first. Talk to Him, pour your heart out, seek help and be confident of a positive response.


5. Do a good deed.

Fast, give charity, do sadqah, read Quran or any good deed and then make dua “Ya Allah! I have done this deed solely for your pleasure, please accept it and grant me this need!”

Have a stash of good deeds always ready to “offer”. To have a great deal of them always in stock, you can recite “Subhan Allahi wabihamdihi” or “la ilaha illallahu wahdahu la shareeka lahu lahul mulku walahulhamdu wahuwa ala kulli shayyin khadeer” hundred times.

Abu hurairah (May Allah be pleased with him) reported:

The Messenger of Allah (ﷺ) said, “He who utters a hundred times in a day these words: ‘La ilaha illallahu, wahdahu la sharika lahu, lahul-mulku wa lahul-hamdu, wa Huwa ‘ala kulli sha’in Qadir (there is no true god except Allah. He is One and He has no partner with Him; His is the sovereignty and His is the praise, and He is Omnipotent),’ he will have a reward equivalent to that for emancipating ten slaves, a hundred good deeds will be recorded to his credit, hundred of his sins will be blotted out from his scroll, and he will be safeguarded against the devil on that day till the evening; and no one will exceed him in doing more excellent good deeds except someone who has recited these words more often than him. And he who utters: ‘Subhan-Allahi wa bihamdihi (Allah is free from imperfection and His is the praise)’ one hundred times a day, his sins will be obliterated even if they are equal to the extent of the foam of the ocean.”

[Al-Bukhari and Muslim].

https://sunnah.com/riyadussaliheen/16/3

Dua, duaa, duas, supplications, prayers, getting duas answered, getting prayers answered.

Top tips to get your duas answered.

6. Give up a sin.

Use Ayat e karima. “La ilaha illa anta subhanaka inni ku tum min-az-zaalimeen.”
Ibrahim bin Muhammad bin Sa`d narrated from his father, from Sa`d that the Messenger of Allah (ﷺ) said:

“The supplication of Dhun-Nun (Prophet Yunus) when he supplicated, while in the belly of the whale was: ‘There is none worthy of worship except You, Glory to You, Indeed, I have been of the transgressors. (Lā ilāha illā anta subḥānaka innī kuntu minaẓ-ẓālimīn)’ So indeed, no Muslim man supplicates with it for anything, ever, except Allah responds to him.” (Tirmidhi)

https://sunnah.com/tirmidhi/48/136

While reciting this ayat, think of at least one of your sins that you have committed, are truly regretful about and are willing to give up for the sake of Allah. It could be a regular habit of yours or a one-off incident of disobedience to Allah. Feel true and deep regret, cry over it and make dua.

7. Give thanks.
Allah(swt) says in Holy Quran: “If you give thanks, I will give you more.” (14:7)

http://legacy.quran.com/14/7

If you want more wealth, give thanks for every dollar. Be thankful for what you already have, no matter how meager it is, in order to receive more. Don’t complain or be ungrateful. Watch your tongue, does it express words of appreciation and contentment or utters ungrateful statements?

If you want increase in rizq, recite authentic duas before and after every meal. Say Alhumdulillah often, after every morsel if possible.

8. Be proactive
.

Along with prayers, make some effort as well. Do something about it. Do everything you can to make it possible. Show Allah you are working really hard. Consistent efforts combined with dua really does wonders.


9. Imagine and expect positive results.

Ask and you shall receive. Once you have made dua, be positive of a response. Have firm faith that it will be answered and your wish will definitely be granted. Don’t doubt it. You have asked the King. Nothing is impossible for Him. No matter, how big your need is, or how difficult you think your problem is, or how messy your situation is, it is nothing in front of Allah and is very, very easy for him. Kun fayakun. He says “Be” and it is. It is that easy for Allah(swt), the Lord of the worlds. http://legacy.quran.com/36/82

Prophet Muhammad(saw) said : “A supplication should be made in full confidence and one should persistently express his desire (before Allah) in his supplication, for no bounty is too great for Allah to bestow (upon his slaves).” (Muslim )

https://sunnah.com/riyadussaliheen/18/233


10. It’s a win-win situation.

If your dua is answered : say Alhumdulillah. If your dua is not answered say “Alhumdulillah ala kulli haal”. Accept the response and situation gracefully. Be thankful. Always remember that Allah can reverse the condition in a second. So, never be ungrateful.
When your dua is answered, say Alhumdulillah from heart, make sujood, increase in your ibadah and decrease your disobedience. Show gratefulness through both your actions and words.

When your dua is not answered, do the same and more. Because duas that have not been answered are the ones that will benefit you in the long term, i.e., in the hereafter and that truly is the ultimate achievement. The unanswered duas are also “working” to prevent accidents and to dodge troubles from you. They could be the reason you enter Jannah.

Jabir narrated that the Messenger of Allah said: “There is none who utters a supplication, except that Allah gives him what he asked, or prevents evil from him that is equal to it – as long as he does not supplicate for something evil, or the cutting of ties of the womb.” (Tirmidhi)

https://sunnah.com/tirmidhi/48/12

So, remember; Always, always make dua. Dua is ibadah.

You can read daily duas from Hisnul Muslim book. Visit Dar-us-Salam.com Islamic Bookstore

What is your experience with duas? What has worked for you? Do let me know in the comments.

62 thoughts on “10 proven tips to get your duas answered.

    • Aslamwalykum thankyou jazakallha khair I am struggling from 4 year for my problem now it’s all done from court but still I am stuck in getting my nationality printing my passport since 8 months please dua for me I really need

      Liked by 1 person

  1. as salaamu alaikum,
    This has been a very special posting which I was happy to reblog. As for my own dua experience: for two years I prayed dearly that I be able to care for my mother who lived four states away.I had an impossible husband, and an impossible mother. How would that ever happen? Only by the grace and mercy of Allah she was Brought to me! She lived with us for the last four months of her life, was content, and Got along with my husband, ma shaa Allah! Alhamdu lillahi

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Salaam. I have not tried this yet, but will start from now! I feel really inspired and JazakAllah Kher for these beautiful tips. If you are reading this, please make dua for me.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Salaam. Please make dua for me, people. I have been looking on to Allah and making dua for an issue for over 2 years. I am positive that He (SWT) would answer me soon. Jazakallahu Khaeran

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Please make an article on dealing with really bad situation like d along with toxic people at school everyday and being the target of anxiety. Also is it allowed to wish death on a person causing you harm or ruining your life.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Assalamwalaikum Brother. I’m really sorry for hearing about this Dua of yours. I have been a victim of anxiety and mental imbalance too. My suggestion to you would be that just leave it in the hands of Allah (SWT) as we know he is the “All-Knowing” and the “All-Hearing”. May Allah ease your burdens and answer your supplications. Remember, A Dua might be delayed but it is never neglected or unanswered. Also, never should you wish death upon a person who is toxic or troublesome for you. Instead, you should wish that Allah blessed him/her with glad tidings and show him the correct path.
      Alhamdulillah. Have a nice day ahead Brother.

      Like

  5. May Allah reward you fi duniyaa wel akhera by answering your duaas and for all of you my muslim brothers and sisters Insha Allah!. PLEASE Don’t miss me by your DUAA.

    Like

  6. Assalamu Alaikum…Please, pray for me, my son is in N. I. C. U till birth since 3rd November. He is in coma. We are running out of money and don’t know whether he’ll recover or not, or due u financial lack, we have to open his life support… Pray for us..

    Like

  7. Assalamalaikum dear sisters,
    I’ve been praying about something for a long while now, yet I’m not satisfied because Allah subhanallahu tala hasn’t answered yet. Alhamdulillah, alhamdulillah, I’ve all the blessings, Allah is the greatest, most merciful, compassionate, bountiful, jalla-jalalahu!
    Please sisters pray for me, that my dua gets fulfilled soon inshallah, also that happiness prevails in my way.
    Inshallah I’ll pray for all the sisters to have peace in life, aameen!

    Like

  8. Allhadalli. My problem is that i have prayed for so many years nw to get a gud husband and up till nw my prayers have not answered I want to know if there is other prayer I can do for Almighty Allah to ans me this year. Thank u

    Like

  9. Assalamualaikum to All my beautiful brothers & sisters. May Allah bless you all. I want to know, I was living a very content Life. I am not going to lie, I wasn’t a 5 times praying Muslim. But, I never did any Shirk, I never hurt anyone not that I know of. I even used to apologise if I did hurt anyone unintentionally. I never did any drinking or smoking despite growing up in a culture that loves to do it. I never earned Haram money or indulge in bribery. 3 years ago, my life fell apart. Not just me, my entire family is suffering very much not only financially but mentally as well. My Dad looks much older than he actually is, my Mom cries almost all the time, everyday. We all pray to Allah that please save us from this crisis. I know prayers are always answered by the Almighty in different ways. But it’s been too long since I’ve been looking at my parents suffering, my siblings all innocent are depressed, anxious and worried all the time because of the people we have to put up with and live with. Is there some way to actually receive the relief from the Merciful, the Magnificent Allah SWT…?
    I’m a lawyer, I do everything I can to help but it’s just never enough or close to it. Everyone tells me to have faith and faith is all I have. I want to see my brothers and sister happy again I want to see my parents smile and relax. Nothing is too much for Allah so please 🙏 everyone please do pray for me. Maybe one of you might be the way to my goal. May Allah bless you all.
    Regards,
    A brother in constant distress

    Like

    • Dear Brother Shah Murad Baloch,

      A Muslim should not despair from the mercy of Allah!
      As a human I can feel the pain and agony, and I have the intention of helping you if were there nearby in the ways that I am able to. However, do not worry be strong its a test from Allah!
      Allah will test you in all the ways to those who he loves so much!
      From now on I will include you and your family in my Dua’s. I request you include whole of our Ummah in your dua’s as well.

      Your Brother,
      Abdul Wahid
      wahid510@gmail.com
      India

      Like

    • Shah Murat Baloch, I bumped into this blog and your request concerning your condition and the condition of your family caught my eyes and made me wept. I wept because I had faced similar condition in my life and glory to Allah who has placed me in better stead.
      Perhaps the recitation of “Astagfirullah” bountifully will make Allah have mercy on you and your family. I used to recite “Astagfirullah” up to twenty thousand times and sometimes forty thousand during weekends when I needed to change my job and my life was miserable from the arrogant boss I had. O a daily basis I used to recite whether walking, driving, sitting, lying on my bed, just every time I formed the habit of reciting “Astaghfirullah” and would conclude it with lailaha illallah recited copiously.
      At first, I felt my supplications were not accepted. Then Allah sent someone who was occasionally rendering financial assistant to me. At a time I started having dreams I had changed my job to the place I work now and for which I was supplicating to Allah. I fasted every Monday and Thursday in addition and gave out sadaqat every Friday at the mosque to the needy no matter how small.
      Behold I got a call of invitation for interview and even though there were a number of us invited for the interview, I was the one employed.
      Try “Astaghfirullah” and insha Allah, Allah will aid you and your family. Remember that the Prophet (saws) was narrated to have said that Istigfar epiates sins and acts as a source of sustenance to whoever forms the habit of reciting it.
      The number I stated here was done by me and not as recommended by the Prophet (saws). You can adopt your own way of doing it. It works miracle of some sort. May Allah relieve your pains. Ameen!
      Your brother in Islam.

      Like

  10. Duaa request
    I have been depressed for more than a month. I have been praying more than ever. I feel like my situation is not improving
    Pray that my situation gets better and Allah accept my dua. Allah accept my good deeds, Allah forgive my sins, that become better Muslim

    Like

  11. Jazaak Allah chair. I am going through something very painful and I believe this will help. If you read this comment, please remember me in your dua

    Like

  12. My self tahura. My all brothers and sisters may allah bless you with his mercyness.
    I can underatand feelings of everyone. Please Pray for me also. I want to become psychologist in life. But my family doesnt supports me and allow me to study. Please please pray for me that me dream will become true.

    Like

  13. Me and my brother are searching for jobs from almost a year. We attempted many interviews but no result . We are in debts too. We dont have any source of income coming toward our ways. I cried alot and am doing lot of dua. I request all of you to pray for me and my brother to get job and clear all our debts and give parents some peaceful and healthy life. And please help me with dua on reciting which we can be able tp gain Allahs grace

    Like

  14. Assalamualaikum admin, I have read all the post may Allah bless the admin please I need Dua for me and my sisters we are five sisters seeking for a good Muslim spouses and up till now no suitors have asked for our hands in marriage and we not getting younger please do Dua to Allah so that we will have husband and children, I don’t know if it’s evil eye that has affected us or not do make Dua for us please thank you all.

    Like

  15. Please make dua for me. I have 2 years son. N my mother in law hates me for no reason. My husband threw me and my son out of the house Bcz my mother in law blamed fake reason on me. I pray no one should go through this what ever I am facing. Please make dua for me.

    Like

  16. I have a friend of mine (we’re not dating), he is really a pure soul, generous, prays regularly and really wants to marry him. but the only problem which we both see is he from a different region and I’m from different. can I make dua to marry him?
    as we do pray for a righteous spouse can one pray to marry a particular person?
    lastly, your blog is so so helpful and is giving me hope. I’ll surely follow each thing stated above.
    and would also request you to make dua for me.

    JAZAK ALLAH KHAIRAN!

    Like

  17. Alhamdulillah I am the person who is more than anyone I think to me my duas always worked in one or the other way. I always thank full to Al mighty for a single blink to single breath to single grain and the powers which he has given to me. I always be thankful to my Al mighty Allah Hu subhana wa tala Alhamdulillah.

    Like

  18. Alhmdulillh for the touching advice jazakallahu khairan🙏 Please I also needed your prayers, I am the eldest of my family in which we are financially not stable, I lost my mum since childhood and my dad struggles helplessly day and night to makes us happy, he is now not working and find it difficult to move the family Cox we are many, please pray for me coz I was once financially stable and fit in which I do like helping my family relatives, brothers and sisters, but now Allah has tested me financially inwhich I found it so difficult to continue my past duties of helping my parents and all the needy, please once again pray for me for Allah to reshower his blessings unto me once again as I always pray day and night, having sleepless night just to pray tagajjud everyday, please kindly include me in your prayer for Allah almighty to see us through and accept all our supplication and forgive our shortcomings ameen.
    May Allah help us all ameen🙏

    Like

  19. Hey im only 21 years old its been 1 year since my stomach issues started i cried alot worried about by health because i have seen my father died from stomach cancer i tried every medicines but releive is just very short its started again specialist dignosed me gerd which is a life long desease but i have positive beleive in Allah that inshAllah one day i will be completely cure because for Allah nothing is impossible please foe me too. I dont wanna live like this(living on medicines)
    JazakAllah.

    Like

  20. Assalamalykum brothers and sisters in Islam. Please make dua for my mum she has knee problems when she accidentally fell two years ago she has been struggling to walk because of her pain. May Allah make it easier for you also InshaAllah

    Like

  21. Salam Alaekum
    I am a soldier in my country, so I travel a lot I don’t have time to take care of my parents wife and children and my two parents are old need my physical attention.
    Because of this I have applied for voluntary discharge to quit from the job but my boss denied and refused to approve the application. Please pray for me I don’t want my parents to die without enjoying my cares. Thanks

    Like

  22. Assalam Alaikum. Please involve me in your prayers, I have been facing a lot of difficulties. May Allah ease it for those who are in similar situations Amin.

    Like

  23. Assalamu’alaikum. Thank you so much for this. It’s very helpful. May Allah (swt) bless you with an easy life and Jannah for all your efforts.
    One of your suggestions is to ask people to make dua for you, so i’ll do that. I’ve been struggling a lot with my anxiety/mental health for a while so could you guys please make dua that Allah (swt) grants me shifa from it and all illnesses and grants me a life full of peace of mind and contentment. Ameen.

    Like

  24. Salaam mu alaikum, thanks so much for this knowledge it has boost my confidence even more. I really wish to get married and I have be praying for it for almost 5 years now, May Allah (SAW) have mercy me ahmeen

    Like

  25. Assalaamu Aleykum. Brothers and Sisters I have big wish I want to get marry a girl that has good deen. Remember me in you dua I really want Allah accept my dua in Shaa Allah

    Like

  26. AssalmoAlaikum, brothers and sisters I pray that everone of your duas get accepted soon, please remember me in your prayers, as im tired of everyone asking me when will I get a job, there is a certain job that Im looking for but I haven’t got it yet, I hope I get this job and take care of my family, Jazakallah.

    Like

Leave a comment