5 Productivity tips for Muslim Homemakers!

As homemakers, We are always on our toes, constantly striving to meet never-ending demands of our household members.
If we don’t manage our time judiciously then we will end up running round the clock every day. Though not being a mainstream job, homemaking requires top management level skills or we will end up drained yet unfulfilled. It is important that we consider our time as important too, our homes as our workplaces and have time-saving mechanisms in place to allot some time for ourselves and our own hobbies, passions and interests. As with any other job, this job also requires planning and proper execution. While having home as our office and all time to ourselves, we tend to be lax and not protective of our time. Hence, we end up wasting more time because there is no set standard rules in place. But productive homemakers are the building blocks of society who will produce a productive atmosphere at home leading to productive husbands and children. It is with this realisation that I have written this article for my fellow muslim sisters to motivate them to use their time more wisely.   

So, here are the top 5 tips to increase your productivity as a Homemaker.

Muslim wife, muslim homemaker, muslim housewife, muslim marriage, islamic household, muslim women, muslimah homemaker, muslim wife responsibilities

Top 5 tips to increase productivity of Muslim Homemakers.

 

1. Realising value of time: 

Realisation of importance of time is must to avoid its wastage and also to become more mindful of it. The following hadith helps me reevaluate my priorities and goals in life and hence affects my actions and daily habits.

Abu Huraira reported Allah’s Messenger (ﷺ) as saying:

Allah, the Exalted and Glorious, said: The son of Adam displeases Me by abusing Dahr (time), whereas I am Dahr–I alternate the night and the day. (Sahih Muslim)

Narrated Ibn Abbas (radi Allahu anhu) that the Messenger of Allah (sal Allahu alaihi wa sallam) said: “There are two blessings which many people lose: health and free time for doing good.” [The Book of Ar-Riqaq: Sahih Bukhari]

2. Praying at the earliest.

It was narrated that ‘Abdullah bin Mas’ud said:

“I asked the Messenger of Allah (ﷺ) which action is most beloved to Allah? He said: ‘Establishing prayer on time, honoring one’s parents and Jihad in the cause of Allah (Sunan An-Nasai).

Male muslims, at least in the Muslim countries pray with jamaat, so they pray at the earliest usually. But we ladies, since Allah has made our homes the place to offer our salah, tend to delay it. We keep delaying until the last hour, until when we are done with the chores and then pray. “Ok, I will finish the dishes and pray,” but we know how the dishes never get done and you pray at the last hour and sometimes may Allah forgive me, even miss it because something or the other keeps coming up.

Thats why I have resolved to pray as soon as the azan is called. I have decided to stop whatever I am doing and immediately make wudhu and just pray. Also, with a 11 month old unpredictable, demanding, naughty and curious baby, my time is not mine any more.

I have noticed that I get a lot more done in between two salahs when I offer my salahs at the earliest. Also, my mind is relaxed. I feel “Ok, I have done my most important duty,” and I am free of that constant reminder buzzing me in my head of remaining time left for prayer.


3. Observing Nafl fasts :

Narrated Qatadah Ibn Malhan al-Qaysi:

The Messenger of Allah (ﷺ) used to command us to fast the days of the white (nights): thirteenth, fourteenth and fifteenth of the month. He said: This is like keeping perpetual fast. (Abi-Dawud) (Sahih-Al-Albani)

Narrated Usamah ibn Zayd:  

The client of Usamah ibn Zayd said that he went along with Usamah to Wadi al-Qura in pursuit of his camels. He would fast on Monday and Thursday. His client said to him: Why do you fast on Monday and Thursday, while you are an old man? He said: The Prophet of Allah (ﷺ) used to fast on Monday and Thursday. When he was asked about it, he said: The works of the servants (of Allah) are presented (to Allah) on Monday and Thursday. (Sunan Abi-Dawud) Sahih (Al-Albani)

Before becoming a mother, I used to fast pretty regularly on Monday and Thursday and on 3 white days. And I had noticed that I used to get a lot more done on those days. May be there was barkah and all the time I used to spend eating was saved and also the time spend preparing my meals or may be because I kept away from sinful acts and words due to my fasts. Whatever may have been the reason, I found that I was more productive when I was fasting.

4. Leaving that which doesn’t concern me:

Hurayrah (may Allah be pleased with him) who said:

The Messenger of Allah (peace and blessings of Allah be upon him) said, “Part of the perfection of one’s Islam is his leaving that which does not concern him.” A hasan (good) hadeeth which was related by at-Tirmidhi and others in this fashion.

Those days when I apply this hadith saves me a lot of time. One of the main “thieves of our time” these days is social media and most of it sadly is useless for us. If you kept asking yourself how does it concern me while browsing various websites, you would feel that you are simply wasting time and you should just stop.


5. Speaking good or remaining silent.   

It is narrated on the authority of Abu Shuraih al-Khuzai’ that the Prophet (may peace and blessings of Allah be upon him) observed:  

He who believes in Allah and the Last Day should do good to his neighbour and he who believes in Allah and the Last Day should show hospitality to the guest and he who believes in Allah and the Last Day should either speak good or better remain silent.

Speak good or “better” remain silent.

‘Abdullah bin ‘Amr narrated that the Messenger of Allah (s.a.w) said:  

“Whoever is silent, he is saved.” (At-Tirmidhi) (Hasan)

This again is very apt for ladies. We talk more than our male counterparts, hence using up a lot of our time. Apply this hadith in your real life conversations, your chats, your social media interactions, your voice and skype calls and you can save a lot of time by controlling your tongue and fingers.

These tips from Sunnah make me a more productive homemaker and hence, happy. Productive mothers make productive families and productive families make productive societies and productive societies make productive communities.

Also, check out motivating tips for Muslim Homemakers here and tips for Muslimah weight loss here.

6 thoughts on “5 Productivity tips for Muslim Homemakers!

  1. I loved this post, MashAllah I know exactly how you feel about the prayer voice in your head. And I agree that when you fast sunnah you have a more productive day, I don’t know why! Such a wonderful, inspiring blog 🙂 May Allah make all of our homes successful and reward you for writing this as it is really helpful 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. How awesome. I never realised that “abusing” time could also mean wasting time. I always took it in the Literal meaning of abusing – as in saying bad words. Loved it.
    Brilliant advices. I agree to social-media being time waster most of the time.
    and also agree of early salah adding more barakah! Jazakillah

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Assalamu alaikum wa rahmatullah
    Great article and beautiful advice! praying at the earliest has been my best productivity booster and also allotting time between two salahs, for different tasks makes my day easier and more manageable. JazakiAllah khyr sister

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

