25 is a big Number!

This year, June 5, I turned 25. And, I couldn’t believe it. I mean I couldn’t accept the fact that I have finished 25 yrs of my life. 25 years since June,1989 when I was born in Hyderabad, India.

Madam toastmaster, fellow toastmasters and esteemed guest, Good Evening!

I spent my early childhood in Hyderabad before moving to Jeddah in 6th grade. In my first term exam in IISJ, I had scored 86 in English . The least marks among all my subjects. but I didn’t hate English. Instead, I fell in love with it. I became an avid reader. Dictionary became my most used book and I liked, loved, adored and treasured my thesaurus. 4 years later, We were moving back to hyd for my further studies. In my final term, I had scored 86 in English. For 9th grade 86 was an excellent score and the highest in class.

I wanted to major in English language but my parents made me an Electronics Engineer. No regrets though, because those 4 years of college were the best time of my life, full of fun, laughter and unforgettable memories.
In my campus, I used to spend hours in the garden area reveling in the beauty of nature.

I also rejoice in rain and games. Competitions and quizzes excite me a lot. I conduct quizzes for my grand parents about family details to test their memories. I make special masala teas on weekends and make my family members compete with one another in guessing the secret ingredients. I organise various types of fun activities for my kid cousins and I really enjoy spending time with them.

I got married this August and as much as I love kids, I actually want to wait for sometime before having children of my own. Motherhood is a serious responsibility and I want to do full justice to it. The prospect of motherhood inspires me to improve myself in every aspect of my life.

When I turned 25, I did a lot of self-introspection and resolved to change for better, and Alhumdulillah in the kast 6 months I have seen significant improvements in myself. I am a good cook now and I manage my household chores effectively. Yes, thats an achievement for someone who was the laziest girl ever and who couldn’t make anything other than a burnt omelette and a bitter tea. I had waged a war against myself on my 25th birthday and I am battling against laziness everyday to become a more productive person. I have deleted my Facebook and I started taking control of the time I spend online.

I am trying to exercise regularly to become stronger.
I am changing my eating habits to become healthier. I am changing myself, because I want to be able to change the society. I am fighting myself to gain enough strength to fight against issues I truly care about. Social service, in general, is my passion but Perhaps, my love for kids, is the reason why I feel the strongest against child abuse. And I desperately want this to end immediately. I also want to influence and inspire people with the power of my words and actions.This is why I am here, in toastmasters, to become a better communicator and a leader. 25 years is a very long time but when I look back, my whole life just flashes before my eyes like it all happened so quickly and if I don’t take charge now, the rest of my life will fly by too without me even realizing it, without me realizing my dreams. No more slacking now because 25 is a big number. Over to you, madam toastmaster.

——–

This was my icebreaker speech in Jeddah Elite ladies toastmasters club on 20th Nov 2015 and I won the best speaker award.

IMG_0998.JPG

Leave a Reply

